Phi Eta Sigma at Florida State University

Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society

Phi Eta Sigma is the oldest and largest national honor society that encourages and rewards academic excellence achieved during the first year in college. The Florida State University (FSU) chapter is one of the premiere chapters in the nation.


The national organization of Phi Eta Sigma awards nearly $300,000 in scholarships each year. Our chapter has established itself as a top recipient among the 365 eligible chapters.  Florida State students have been awarded a total of $124,500 from 2007 through 2012. Applications are available to members each January and are due by mid-February.

Florida State National Scholarship Winners 

Charles M. Thompson Graduate Scholarship ($7,000)

Cathryn Dobrowolski

Undergraduate Scholarships ($1,000)

Jack Graham

Marianne Cortes

Harry B. Shucker Scholarship ($5,000)

Brittany Stevens

Florida State National Scholarship Winners

James G. Allen Undergraduate Scholarship ($6,000)

Cathryn Dobrowolski

Undergraduate Scholarships ($1,000)

Emilie Easton

Federico Simon

Florida State Chapter Scholarship Winners

FSU Chapter Award ($1,000)

Madison Maher

Megan Hughes


Total awarded to Florida State Students in 2016- $8,000



Local Award

Phi Eta Sigma at Florida State has established an endowment that awards $1,000 annually to fund undergraduate research conducted by a member of our chapter. We are now working to increase our endowment fund so more members will receive this award. Contributions are welcome.


Florida State Undergraduate Research Award

2016: Kaitlin Rizzo & Nicholas Schreiter

2015: Rebecca Abblett & Kelley Cunningham

2014: Danielle Luz

2013: Sydney Jones

2012: Michelle Faidengold

2011: Daniel Stribling



Past Winners

In addition to the winners this year, our chapter has been very successful with past recipients. Here is a link to all past recipients since 2000.